Writers and their Patrons

Well, it’s been a very long time since my last post. Not because I didn’t have anything to write about but somehow time was never on my side. I’ve been focusing on my latest novel, (I like to think of it as a historical fantasy fiction) and writing reviews on TripAdvisor. The good news is I am in the top 10% of reviewers from Melbourne on TripAdvisor but the bad news is I haven’t finished my novel. See, university work keeps getting in the way.

What I would really love is to have more time to write and in between submitting assessments and working on my novel, I write short stories to amuse myself. As of yesterday, I decided to share these short stories with you on Patreon.

https://www.patreon.com/NoorDeOlinad

I heard about Patreon a while ago and have been thinking about starting my own creator’s page for some time but putting it off. Yesterday I finally decided I had procrastinated enough and to try it out. For those of you who are not familiar with Patreon,read on.

What is Patreon?
Patreon is a funding platform that lets fans support their favorite creators by becoming patrons. Unlike other fundraising services, which raise for a single big event, Patreon is for creators who create a stream of smaller works.

No obligations and you can cancel at anytime and if you have a budget to stick to, you can set a maximum monthly amount for your pledges.

I really liked the idea of having creating something that people enjoy so much, they voluntarily choose to support me through donations. While I may not make millions from it (and that is not my aim), I greatly value the encouragement from Patrons who like my writing. It is a wonderful feeling knowing that what you write not only brings enjoyment to yourself but to other people too.

I hope you enjoy my short stories as I work to finish my novel (in between submitting assessments)

Happy Reading

Leave a Reply

